Today’s Mega-Rocking Playlist

Every once in a while, I’ll be in the mood for playing music.  I do not now do it very often, despite having shelves of 12″s and LPs, and racks of CDs, most of the lie untouched.

But today I was inspired after seeing something lately on TV, not sure what it was, possibly a trailer for a programme or an advert, and it used an unfamiliar version of a familiar piece of music.  Now I thought I knew what the music was, but when I went to check it out, it turned out I had mis-remembered.

What I thought I was looking for was “Call Of Ktulu” by Metallica, which I have on their S&M live album with the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra with Michael Kamen.  But while that’s good, the music I actually was seeking was “The Ecstasy Of Gold” which preceeds Ktulu, and which apparently Metallica have opened their gigs with for years.  It’s an Ennio Morricone composition from “The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly” soundtrack.

That led me on the usual YouTube time-suck trip of the original version, which is simply splendid and I find very emotional, plus a few variants like a Nike ad version, Metallica’s recording for the “We All Love Ennio Morricone” tribute album, a live orchestral performance, and maybe some more.

Well anyway, the course was set, and I started selecting, and here’s some of what else was played:

  • Metallica “Master of Puppets” (from S&M)
  • “Jam for World In Action” (contentiously, Shawn Phillips, Jonathan Weston, Mick Weaver) (theme to World In Action)
  • Mountain “Nantucket Sleigh Ride” (theme to Weekend World)
  • various things from SoundCloud, including some dubstep, and some stuff from Max Barker.
  • Alien Levi’s “Tribute to Andy Fairley” on SoundCloud
  • Lee Scratch Perry vs The Moody Boyz “Smile” remix
  • Dre, Eminem and Skylar Gray “I Need A Doctor
  • Black Eyed Peas: “Imma Be Rockin That Body” (from the composite video of two songs)

Having mentioned BEP, I should say I’ve had a post about them brewing for two years or more, but now is not the time…

Leave a comment